Hickory Grove Baptist Church stands as a monument to our forefathers, a handful of people dedicated to their faith in God and resolute in their vision of the great commission.
On July 13, 1906, a group of 33 gathered on this spot in the gently rolling hills of the Green Creek community, on land graciously donated by William Barnett McSwain, descendent of George Hans Hamrick, who left his native Germany for his new homeland in America in 1730 to practice his chosen religion. There, they constructed a simple temporary place of worship, a traditional brush arbor shelter so common for the era.
In due time, those parishioners, sturdy, hard-working men and women of God, using milled timber also donated by Mr. McSwain, labored faithfully to construct a modest one-room church which included a speaker’s platform, a pulpit and hand-hewn benches. To serve the needs of this small community, a one-room school was also erected on the property. During the course of its operation throughout the early 1930’s, the school was eventually expanded to two rooms and housed grades one through seven.
On the night of July 17, 1933, the original wooden structure was destroyed by fire. Once again, parishioners fashioned a brush arbor structure in which to worship, then set about rebuilding the permanent structure still standing today. Over time, buildings and furnishings have been lovingly refreshed and a family life center has been added.
Spanning six generations, many members today are the direct descendants of those founding fathers. The present congregation of Hickory Grove Baptist Church, many connected by heritage, all connected by brotherhood in the Spirit, are many parts of one Body. As our community grows in numbers and in diversity, we welcome our neighbors to share the spirit of joy that is our birthright in Him. He is Father to us all.